Conseil scientifique consultatif



Composé de huit experts internationaux, le Conseil scientifique consultatif est consulté sur la stratégie scientifique de l’Institut Jacques Monod et assiste notamment la direction dans la préparation du contrat quinquennal et du rapport HCERES de l’Institut, et dans l’évaluation des candidatures aux appels à group leaders.




Philippe Pasero, Institut de Génétique Humaine (IGH) – Montpellier

Philippe Pasero is director of the Institute of Human Genetics (IGH), Principal Investigator (DR1 Inserm) and is leading the team “Maintenance of genome integrity during DNA replication”. 





Yves Barral, ETH – Zurich

Yves Barral obtained his Ph.D. in 1194 from the Pierre und Marie Curie University in Paris. He then went on to work as a postdoctoral fellow and postdoctoral associate in the Department of Biology, Yale University (New Haven, USA) up until July 1999, focussing on the regulation of cellular morphogenese during cell division. At the ETH Prof. Barral will continue working on the coordination of the cytoskeleton and the cell cycle in yeast. He will also develop new genetic techniques to address related issues in the multicellular Nematode C.elegans.



Buzz Baum, University College London (UCL) – London

Buzz Baum studied Biochemistry at St Catherine’s College, Oxford. He did his PhD (1993-1997) with Paul Nurse at Cancer Research UK, UCL. From 1997-2001, he joined Norbert Perrimon at Harvard Medical School. In 2001, he was awarded a Royal Society URF at UCL and he was appointed as a group leader at UCL’s MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology in 2007. He was appointed Professor of Cell Biology in 2011. Since 2018, he has also been the director of the Institute for the Physics of Living Systems (IPLS).



Wendy Bickmore, University of Edinburgh – Edinburgh

Wendy Bickmore is Director of the MRC Human Genetics Unit, part of the  Institute of Genetics and Cancer at the University of Edinburgh.  Current research in Wendy Bickmore’s laboratory focuses on how the spatial organization of the nucleus influences genome function in development and disease. Wendy is an EMBO member and a Fellow of the Royal Society, Royal Society of Edinburgh and of the Academy of Medical Sciences. She is an editor on many journals including PLoS Genetics and Cell and a Past President of the Genetics Society.



Anne Ephrussi, The European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) – Heidelberg

Anne Ephrussi is director of EICAT, Head of developmental Biology Unit.






Maria Leptin, The European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) – Heidelberg

Director of EMBO and Group Leader at EMBL from 2010 to 2021, Maria Leptin is now President of the European Research Council (ERC)




François Schweisguth, Institut Pasteur – Paris

Francois Schweisguth is the Director of the CNRS UMR3738 (since 2011), the head of the BDCS Dept (since 2016), a co-coordinator the Labex REVIVE (since 2011) and a co-director of a Pasteur/REVIVE course on Stem Cell Biology (since 2013). His research focuses on the cell biology of Notch, the role of self-organization in the formation of developmental patterns, the control of cell fate and the regulation of epithelial morphogenesis using Drosophila as a model system.



Giorgio Scita, IFOM – Milano

Cell biologist and expert on the dynamics of cell movement, Giorgio Scita directs the Mechanisms of Tumor Cell Migration research unit at IFOM.





Bertrand Séraphin, Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC) – Strasbourg

Bertrand Séraphin est Directeur de Recherche CNRS à l’IGBMC. Il a reçu de nombreux prix nationaux et internationaux, y compris une nomination au titre d’« Inventeur européen de l’année » de l’Office européen des brevets en 2008, la médaille d’argent du CNRS en 2007, et le prix Pierce de l’International Society for Molecular Recognition en 2005. Il a été élu membre de l’EMBO en 2000. Il a également reçu le prix Émilia Valori de l’Académie des sciences en 2014.